Here Be Dragons – T.A. Chase

Here Be Dragons - T. A. Chase

I’ve just finished reading Here Be Dragons by T.A. Chase (you can click the cover to buy a copy of the book for yourself). This is a quick-paced urban fantasy that will make you take another look at familiar myths. Think you know the story of St. George and the Dragon or what Mordred from Arthurian legend was really like? Not the way T. A.’s re-envisioned them. Think dragons are merely misunderstood and all mythical creatures are warm and friendly? Think again.

 I liked this book a lot. Kael and Hugh, the heroes of the story, are a perfect match for one another, both warm and very real and three-dimensional. They work well as echoes of this story’s George and Mordred. They work even better -with- them. Though I might have liked a little more detail about the final battle against the dragon, I know that action scenes are tough and what we get serves its purpose. There’s no question about the outcome of the fight.

I have to confess that George stole my attention, though. I look forward to reading more of T.A.’s work, but if there are more stories that focus on the big guy,  I might just have to put other reading aside for him.

Cheerfully recommended!

Leave a comment